This is a photo post

I took this picture near my old apartment up on Ben Yehuda and Jabotinsky. I love beautiful beaches, but in Tel Aviv, I’ve only been on the beach twice because I find the crowds (and the music being pumped by the cafes) a little hard to deal with.

Hare Krishna’s, they are everywhere. Seriously, everywhere. I used to listen to them chant near Carre St Louis in Montreal, and I remember seeing them in the Czech Republic too. I just find it interesting that it’s become such a global movement.

I think this fountain is especially beautiful. I don’t know why, but there’s something about the water and the beach.

The Jaffa Port – the oldest functioning port in the world. I’m not going to lie, it was a little bit of a let-down. I find the city of Jaffa to be much more beautiful and intriguing.

The beach at Kibbutz Magan Michael. It was absolutely beautiful. There is nothing like camping on the beach, even though it does get cold. These are the beaches I like… the ones with barely any people. The ones where this is my morning view.

This photo makes me a little sad. The man in the yellow hat is a Palestinian villager who is snapping photos of the settler’s (the man in white) presence on Palestinian land. It makes me sad because the young boys see this every week, and it was one of the most antagonistic and hostile experiences I’ve had.

This is the village Susya, where we went to with Ta’ayush. As you can see, almost all the houses are essentially tents. They don’t have running water or electricity, but what they do have are cameras to record what happens in the area and solar chargers for the camera batteries. I think the cameras were provided by B’tselem, but only because I know they provide cameras to Palestinians in other areas. Don’t quote me on that.

The IDF, as said in the last post, was doing their job this time around. The settler in this photo had come very very close to the Palestinian village (the settlement and village aren’t far apart at all) and the IDF here are telling him to leave.

Palestinian farmers working on the olive trees. The only mechanized instrument I saw was a tractor used for ploughing when we were there. Everything else is done by hand.

Like the other photo with the children and the settler upset me, this one also touches me. I can’t imagine growing up with a constant army presence, let alone their other hardships. Life has been cushy for me.

I think this picture speaks for itself…. It is in the village of Susya.

This was a Palestinian village and olive trees, but was destroyed by the IDF. Three times. As I explained last post that the Palestinians in the West Bank Zone C are subject to three different legal systems. This is the result of building a village on what is “agricultural land” under British Mandate law. For some reason, olive trees farmed on agricultural land also had to be uprooted.

And there are people from this village rebuilding. I can’t express the respect I have for the determination of such people. In an ideal world, people wouldn’t do this to other people.

The sign says “Yes we ken.” Ken, in Hebrew, means yes. This is a play on Obama’s old campaign slogan meaning yes, yes to an independent Palestinian state. At a demonstration in the center of Tel Aviv.


Again, absolutely self explanatory

Netanyahu. The one who says “no”.

One thought on “This is a photo post

  1. Pingback: Blogs about Dr. George Youssef On Wordpress – the Bak Islami « islamicbakmagics

Leave a Reply

